Creative Life http://capeandislands.org en Theater Program Helps Students Transcend Disabilities On and Off Stage http://capeandislands.org/post/theater-program-helps-students-transcend-disabilities-and-stage <p>The students at Riverview School are in most ways no different to teenagers at any other New England boarding school. They play soccer and run cross country, cram for exams, waste time with friends. But they’re also coping with a range of disabilities. Vanessa Barchfield tells the story of how the school’s theater program is helping students transcend their disabilities on and off stage.&nbsp;</p><p>For more information on the Riverview School&nbsp;<a href="http://riverviewschool.org/home">http://riverviewschool.org/home</a></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Vanessa Barchfield 27594 at http://capeandislands.org Theater Program Helps Students Transcend Disabilities On and Off Stage Dartmouth High School Theater Group Competes at Disney World http://capeandislands.org/post/dartmouth-high-school-theater-group-competes-disney-world <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Last month, a group of students at Dartmouth High School competed in the National Performing Arts Festival at Disney World. During school vacation week, the students were hard at work in a classroom at the near-empty school, putting the final touches on the play they’d been rehearsing since last September.</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 11:35:00 +0000 Brian Morris 26549 at http://capeandislands.org Dartmouth High School Theater Group Competes at Disney World Deep Sound ~ Can you hear it? http://capeandislands.org/post/deep-sound-can-you-hear-it <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is currently home to a scientist who, &nbsp;in 2009, tried to record something no human ear had ever heard. &nbsp;Annie </span>McEwen<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;b</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">rings us the story as part of our Creative Life series.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Annie McEwen 26051 at http://capeandislands.org Deep Sound ~ Can you hear it? Middle School Students Bring A Mural To Life http://capeandislands.org/post/middle-school-students-bring-mural-life <p></p><p>At Nauset Middle School in Orleans, a group of students are collaborating on a unique after-school project with one of their teachers. They’re painting a large mural along one wall of a long downstairs corridor, slowly transforming it into a work of art.</p><p>Artist and Assistant Teacher Greg Johnson mixes a can of light blue paint in a downstairs corridor at Nauset Middle School. He's helping two students prep a new area of the wall where sections of the mural are coming together.</p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 12:30:00 +0000 Brian Morris 25149 at http://capeandislands.org Middle School Students Bring A Mural To Life Gender Gifted http://capeandislands.org/post/gender-gifted <p>A local radio personality on WOMR continues to defy conventional gender boundaries. Kathy Tu&nbsp;brings the story of a man who isn't afraid to be herself.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>You can hear Lady Di Friday nights at 5pm on WOMR.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Kathy Tu 24552 at http://capeandislands.org Gender Gifted Beetbox Revival http://capeandislands.org/post/beetbox-revival <p></p><p class="p1">When you think about preserving traditional music &nbsp;- several genres might come to mind: Bluegrass...Folk...maybe even Cajun or Celtic. But an unconventional band here on Cape Cod is trying to add one more style to that list. &nbsp;Jennifer Jerrett went out to listen..and dance. For more info go to: &nbsp;<a href="http://www.reverbnation.com/Polkadansbeetboxband" target="_blank">Polka Dan's&nbsp;Beet Box Band</a>.&nbsp;</p><p class="p1">&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Jennifer Jerrett 23842 at http://capeandislands.org Beetbox Revival A Rope Without Knots ~ Broadside Poems http://capeandislands.org/post/rope-without-knots-broadside-poems <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An unconventional poet -&nbsp;Elizabeth Bradfield of Truro - wants to see people interact more with poetry in their daily lives, and she has come up with a way to do that. Jenny Gustafsson tells the story.&nbsp;</span></p><p>You can download poems <a href="http://broadsidedpress.org" target="_blank">here</a> or post one of your own !</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Jenny Gustafsson 23112 at http://capeandislands.org A Rope Without Knots ~ Broadside Poems Not a Weapon: Making a Knife Equal in Beauty and Utility http://capeandislands.org/post/not-weapon-making-knife-equal-beauty-and-utility <p></p><p class="p1">Sam&nbsp;<b>&nbsp;</b>Densmore has learned how to make a lot of different things in his young life. He paints, he's made shoes, built bicycle frames - currently he's been working on something finely honed. Ethan Chiel went to visit Sam's studio in North Falmouth. &nbsp;For more information you can go to <a href="http://densmoreknives.com">Sam's website</a>.</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Ethan Chiel 22498 at http://capeandislands.org Not a Weapon: Making a Knife Equal in Beauty and Utility Redesign of Island's only Skate Park sparks New Creative Visions http://capeandislands.org/post/redesign-islands-only-skate-park-sparks-new-creative-visions <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Martha's Vineyard Skatepark across the street from the regional high school in Oak Bluffs gave a big boost to the island's skaters when it opened a decade ago. But the wooden ramps have since worn out and the park needs an overhaul. Derek Hawkins brings us the story about a community of skaters and a&nbsp;creative&nbsp;design challenge.</span></p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 14:10:00 +0000 Derek Hawkins 13218 at http://capeandislands.org Redesign of Island's only Skate Park sparks New Creative Visions Matt Heinlein Needs to Fix Things http://capeandislands.org/post/matt-heinlein-needs-fix-things <p></p><p>Usually when we need something, we go out and buy it. Matt Heinlein is a little different. If Matt needs something, his first impulse is to make it, everything from computers to dune buggies. For WCAI’s Creative Life series, Neena Pathak went to Falmouth to find out more.</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 13:53:00 +0000 Neena Pathak 13224 at http://capeandislands.org Matt Heinlein Needs to Fix Things