Bird News http://capeandislands.org en Indigo Bunting and Osprey are Eye-catching Forerunners of the Spring Migration http://capeandislands.org/post/indigo-bunting-and-osprey-are-eye-catching-forerunners-spring-migration <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:48:24 +0000 Vern Laux 28244 at http://capeandislands.org Indigo Bunting and Osprey are Eye-catching Forerunners of the Spring Migration Snowy Owls continue to fascinate Cape and Islanders http://capeandislands.org/post/snowy-owls-continue-fascinate-cape-and-islanders <p>The season's annual Christmas Bird Counts show an unprecedented number of these magnificent birds.&nbsp; Nantucket ornithologist <strong>Vern Laux </strong>says it's a delight to see them.</p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 12:14:29 +0000 Vern Laux 23022 at http://capeandislands.org Snowy Owls continue to fascinate Cape and Islanders Remarkable Stories about Crows: November Bird News http://capeandislands.org/post/remarkable-stories-about-crows-november-bird-news <p>The antics and puzzling behavior of crows prompted many calls in our November edition of Bird News. Also this month, water fowl are returning to our area, and preparations are underway for the Christmas Bird Count. Vern Laux and Mindy Todd talk birding, answer questions, and have a new Bird Brain Quiz.</p><p><em>Audio posted above.</em></p><p></p> Sat, 09 Nov 2013 16:38:26 +0000 Mindy Todd 20414 at http://capeandislands.org Remarkable Stories about Crows: November Bird News Sea Ducks, Grebes, among the Migrants Arriving to Our Waters http://capeandislands.org/post/sea-ducks-grebes-among-migrants-arriving-our-waters <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Now is the time that northerly nesting loons, grebes, sea ducks and gulls arrive to spend the winter months off our shores.</span></p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 17:30:35 +0000 Vern Laux 19855 at http://capeandislands.org Sea Ducks, Grebes, among the Migrants Arriving to Our Waters September Bird News: Rehab, Tagging & more http://capeandislands.org/post/september-bird-news-rehab-tagging-more <p></p> Sat, 07 Sep 2013 15:28:38 +0000 Mindy Todd 17055 at http://capeandislands.org September Bird News: Rehab, Tagging & more Tree Swallows Fill the Sky during Fall Migration http://capeandislands.org/post/tree-swallows-fill-sky-during-fall-migration <p></p><p>The annual fall migration of tree swallows has begun. Big numbers of swallows are showing up at favored spots across Cape Cod and the Islands. These attractive and hardy small birds are able to digest Bayberries and leisurely move south in the fall feasting on these abundant ripening fruits. As they move south, transporting and depositing the seeds by defecating on newly created shores and dunes, they are both making more bayberry and improving prospects for future migrations. It is profitable for both the birds and the plants.</p><p></p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 16:13:29 +0000 Vern Laux 16849 at http://capeandislands.org Tree Swallows Fill the Sky during Fall Migration Please, Don't Feed the Gulls http://capeandislands.org/post/please-dont-feed-gulls-0 <p></p><p><span style="font-family:&quot;Comic Sans MS&quot;">Many on vacation think it's great fun to feed the gulls. It is fun initially - but like feeding wild animals anywhere, it is a bad practice. It dulls the birds’ innate fear of humans and encourages increasingly aggressive behavior. And it is bad for the birds. Subjecting them to what we humans eat could be the cruelest trick of all.</span></p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 17:00:21 +0000 Vern Laux 14278 at http://capeandislands.org Please, Don't Feed the Gulls July Bird News: Birds of Summer http://capeandislands.org/post/july-bird-news-birds-summer <div><div><div><p></p> Sat, 06 Jul 2013 16:18:36 +0000 Mindy Todd 13649 at http://capeandislands.org July Bird News: Birds of Summer Bird News: June Chicks Busting Out All Over http://capeandislands.org/post/bird-news-june-chicks-busting-out-all-over <p>Summer is arriving and nests are full of eggs and newly hatched chicks. Vern and Mindy discuss the highlights of the season, with lots of fascinating details. Mute Swans and how we feel about them, how baby birds fledge, the physiology of nighttime migration, fecal sacks, and the song of the Killdeer... Until next month, keep your eyes to the sky! And check out our Bird News Face Book page: <strong><a href="https://www.facebook.com/BirdNewsWCAI" target="_blank">https://www.facebook.com/BirdNewsWCAI</a></strong></p><p></p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 15:21:24 +0000 Mindy Todd 11683 at http://capeandislands.org Bird News: June Chicks Busting Out All Over May Bird News http://capeandislands.org/post/may-bird-news <p></p><p>Humming birds flying backwards, returning migrants, woodpeckers vandalizing car mirrors... May is an exciting time for birds and birders. <strong>Vern Laux</strong> shares his unique expertise with <strong>Mindy Todd</strong> and listeners on the monthly <strong>Bird News</strong> program.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 May 2013 15:15:02 +0000 Mindy Todd 10056 at http://capeandislands.org May Bird News